Flyin by the seat of my computer chair

Funny thing is, I started this blog to be about decorative faux finishing. That is what I do for a living, so you would think…..yea, I know, me too!!! Thing is, I am the type of person that has so many thoughts going through their brain I can’t keep it in one direction.

Is there anyone else out there like that?????

I am very blessed to be able to say,

“Love what you do and do what you love.”

Although, this is a business that I totally love, I have been seeking which direction I need to go.   We sometimes ask for guidance and don’t understand why we aren’t getting it. After talking to a dear friend of mine a few weeks ago, I shared a story with her that someone had shared with me.  As soon as I heard the story it was like, knock knock, is there anybody home up there!!!!!!

So I will share here so that someone else maybe able to benefit the same way that I did.

A friend of ours had gone to a men’s retreat, and it was for letting go and listening. When they arrived the pastor told them to write down their sins on a piece of paper and then wad them up. There was a rather large bowl with a candle burning in it and he told them all to throw each piece of paper in the fire.

The pastor told them that the reason for this was to demonstrate how we are forgiven. To let it all go because God had.

The second thing he asked them to do was to spend the whole weekend in silence. If we don’t spend time in silence then we won’t be able to hear what God may be trying to tell us.

OK, even at over 50, we can still learn…and LISTEN.

Sometimes I will be searching for inspiration for a new finish or just to see what others are doing in the industry. Strange thing is I will end up in a totally different direction. At first, I questioned what was happening but one day it was like a light bulb going off. It didn’t take me long to realize I was being guided directly to what I needed to listen for.

So, for now, with uncertainty of where God is leading me, I will just follow the cyber space road.

~ by Chatty Renee on January 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
