venting about kids out of control

While at the store this week, I couldn’t get out of there fast enough due to a child screaming and throwing a temper tantrum. What did the parent do?  NOTHING, other than give in to what he wanted.

This isn’t the first time I have been in a public place and a child out of control. It seems over the last 10 to 15 years it has escalated.  I am appalled at the disrespect that children have, not only to their parents but any adult. In fact it isn’t just the younger kids either. I see adults in their 40’s still living at home and sponging off of their parents, but I suppose that should be in another venting story.

I wasn’t going to post, but thought why not, because I do believe it is something that all parents, grandparents should address. Maybe there might be a parent out there that will read this and get a grip.  I am not a psychologist, but it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to look around and see what is happening. The next time you are at the Mall, WalMart or grocery store stop and watch,  you will be amazed at what you see.

My parents were strict and for that I am glad. Although, at the time I was like MAN…I will be glad when I am grown. I realized several years ago just how blessed I was.

When we went somewhere to visit we sat quietly and watched TV, or went outside and played. We didn’t run through the house or interrupt our parents when they were talking.  We just knew better. I hardly ever got in trouble, but when I did, I deserved it. All my dad had to do was look at me and I got the message loud and clear. I wasn’t afraid of my parents, I respected them.

When we asked if we could do something and they said no, they would tell us why and that was it. No whining, screaming, begging or throwing a fit.

I did a search on kids out of control and found some links that I have posted below. Like I said earlier, I am not a psychologist, nor do I have all the answers. I am posting links for you to read and you will have to be responsible for how you interpret what you read. You can do a search for “kids out of control” and not have any trouble finding something.

I am in no way advocating child abuse but I do believe in the “old school.” It is how I was raised!

http://www.azcentral.com/families/articles/0203fam_spoiled.html

http://www.kaydaly.com/2006/05/are-your-children-out-of-control-is.htm

This video is one that children should not watch. It is of a child slapping his mother and they were eventually on Dr. Phil’s show.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vQASUdUoHA&feature=related

~ by Chatty Renee on February 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
