riding the harley to grand isle

was a scary ride….humm…2 reasons, it was the first time I had ridden since my little moped crash and the wind was horrible. Of course going to the end of Louisiana to the gulf you are going to have some wind but oh my…I looked at Steve and Margaret in front of us and he was having to ride his bike with it leaning quite a bit and then there were the wind gust.

All in all, it was a wonderful trip and I got a chance to see some of the wonerous beauty of Louisiana.This is taken from almost the very end of Grand Isle….dsc_0505 dsc_0514 not the best picture but hey when you ride you have helmet hair..

Seeing the shrimp boats was a totally new experience for me. Seeing them on  tv and then in person is a totally different thing. Makes you appreciate the hard work that goes in to doing their job….I can’t imagine..dsc_0517. Not sure but I think this one is retired…….dsc_0519. I think this one was just coming in…………dsc_0520 .

Steve waiting for Margraret and me to stop talking and taking pictures so we can go.

dsc_0521

and Bobbie trying to turn around on graveldsc_0522and he hates that.

And anyone that knows me knows that I have a phobia of bridges…but I managed to be brave enough to take this one on the move before we got to it and had to close my eyes while we crossed over it…

dsc_0531

We went to Avery Island where the Tabasco Sauce is made and there was a levy and I thought humm..wonder what is on the other side. So beautiful and majestic to me…I see these trees and I wonder about all the secrets the moss growing on them holds from the secrets and whispers they have heard over the years that have drifted through the air…to never be told or heard again.

dsc_0538

This is the front entrace to the tours. Can’t imagine what all went in to the beginnings of Tabasco Sauce.

dsc_0544

dsc_0546

See the stick that he has in his hand, it is painted to the red of a ripe pepper and they can’t pick them unless they match that stick.

dsc_0550

It is shipped to over 100 countries.

dsc_0552

Did you know it fermintes for 3 years. They purchase the kegs from Jack Daniels and they use them for 22 years.

dsc_0537

dsc_0553

dsc_0555dsc_0556

And there is the salt mine…..

dsc_0557

AND LOOK WHAT I SAW AS WE WERE ABOUT TO LEAVE THE COUNTRY STORE……

A CHANDELIER……OF COURSE…I LOVED IT…

dsc_0559

~ by Chatty Renee on May 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “riding the harley to grand isle”

  1. Sounds like ya’ll had a wonderful time! Don’t you just love Avery Island and Grand Isle both? Louisiana is so full of wonderful places….and great food! I never want to live anywhere else!

  2. Yes we did and you are so right…I am amazed at how much there is to see just right here in Louisiana…

Leave a Reply

 
