making it through the daily trials of life and not smoking

Stopping smoking has been the hardest thing I have ever had to do in my life.

Right now I could smoke one a mile long cigarette-by-yale-joel-sm….but I thank God everyday for giving me the strength to not pick one up. From just trying to stop smoking I can’t imagine being addicted to hard drugs, my heart goes out to anyone that has had to deal with that.

They say that nicotine sends messages to your brain that is releasing dopamine, which is pleasure…Dopamine is right..I was a DOPE for ever picking up the first cigarette..but I thought it was cool.

stop-smoking1

Can’t even tell you what really stemmed the idea of quiting..because everytime I just thouht about it I would smoke 2 just to forget the idea…

It was when my husband said he was going to quite that really made me sit up and take notice. I would have never thought he would ever say those words..so I knew that I had to quit or he wouldn’t be able to do it alone, nor could I do it alone. So together it shall be, as we do everything else…

Again I must give the praise to the Lord for giving me strength to not ever pick one up again……

~ by Chatty Renee on May 4, 2009.

12 Responses to “making it through the daily trials of life and not smoking”

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving that wonderful message. I too had a long history of smoking and I have been smoke free now for 18 mos. You can do it, and when you get on the other side of withdrawals, you will know that you will never go back to them. Keeping you in my thoughts…

  2. Amazing thought provoking post. Quitting is hard but not quitting is definitely harder (with it’s dangerous outcomes).

    Am a non-smoker, but I’ve got a few chain smokers in my family, so I could understand everything that went into your words.

    Good luck in all you do 🙂

  3. I am so proud of you honey and I am so happy you have kept going…with all the things that have been going on, it would have been understandable if you had weakened and had the odd puff but you have stood firm…wooohooooo. There’s a hurdle (about 2 months in I think it was for me)…you think you are over the worst and then wham it hits you again. Took me by surprise and nearly floored me. At the same time my husband got quitters flu…we were the most miserable couple of poops you ever came across. We got through though…LOL …I just pity my poor son who lived through it with us.
    Keep it up!!!!!
    My prayers are with you.

  4. Sharon congrats on the 18 years…will be glad when I have gotten to the 18 months mark…lololol since it has only been about 2 months. Sharon’s link is broken so I will post it here. http://musingsfromthemountains

    Dialouge…so glad that you have never picked up the habit..just hope that your family will stop..

    Cait thank you for the support and encouragement..it has been hard the last couple of days for some reason..maybe it is because it is that 2 month mark…funny thing is though it really doesn’t bother me to be around others that smoke. Isn’t that strange?

  5. Never bothered me around others smoking…it would just catch me unawares at a moment when I least expected it…it still does. Often I think I would love to have a smoke, I just don’t want to be a smoker.

  6. Hi Renee, I have left the correct address, I think, please try again, would love to have you visit.

  7. Glad you got the link fixed and I added it in my post also..I goofed to say that you had not smoked in 18 years but that you had only been stopped for 18 months..so you do know exactly what it is like….I hate that something so small controlled such a large part of my life.

  8. wow! i am a smoker too. and you know, i have been telling myself i should quit…i always have this procrastinating voice in me that says “…one of these days”. i could not agree with you more after reading this post. yes, there are things which we cannot do alone. somethings which we need just a nudge in the right direction for…but those things, when achieved add to the sense of accomplishment.
    the harder they are to achieve, the sweeter they are when you get them.

  9. Vipul you are so right with there are just some things that are hard to do alone but when we do reach the point that we feel we have moved over that milestone it is such a feeling of accomplishment.
    I have to admit that there are days I want to just say what the heck when I think about stuff like..what is in our food, the air, and that we are going to die of something..but..then I think about the possibilities of getting lung cancer or breathing problems with getting older and I don’t want that.

  10. Congratulations, you should be proud of yourself. I lived with the addiction for 20 years before I quit smoking for good. It took several tries and it was very hard, but it was worth the effort. So once again, congrats~

    • Thank you…and yes it has been hard but still not smoking….but can’t say I still couldn’t smoke one a mile long..
      Funny thing though I cleaned a mirror that had been in storage from the home that we used to smoke in and the
      paper towel was yukey brown. Made me realize just how glad I am that I did stop.

Leave a Reply

 
