happy fathers day to my dad!!! I miss him…

For me, I owe so much to my dad. Although, he was a hard man, he taught me values to live by in life, never steal, lie, cheat, pay your bills, if you can’t pay for it don’t buy it and that no one was better than me and I know better than others.

He was one of the hardest workers and smartest men I have ever known. Although he only had a 6th grade education he needed no calculator; in fact he could figure faster in his head or with a pencil than my mother could with the calculator.

My dad left home at the age of 13 and hoboed to Oregan, with a fellow friend, and got a job at a mill. When the war broke out he hobed back to Tupelo, Mississippi and got his papa to lie about his age and joined the Navy. I can not imagine one of my boys joining the service when they were barely 17.

The one thing that I do regret not doing when my dad was still alive was putting all his stories on paper. He lived a life that only few could imagine and he had the opportunity ONCE to make LOTS of money, but he told the gentleman he was going to pass because that was just to much money. He had only wanted to make a good living for his family and felt he had done that. I always admired him for that.

My dad and my mom were amazing together and I am so fortunate to have had them as parents. I not one time ever heard them argue or fight. They lived by the rules that those things were never done in front of children but behind closed doors.  They worked together and played together their whole lives.

f.navypicture

d.mom dad pea ridge dad with gun

One day we will all be together again!!!!!!

~ by Chatty Renee on June 21, 2009.

5 Responses to “happy fathers day to my dad!!! I miss him…”

  1. That’s a heartwarming and a very emotional tribute.
    You brought back to me my childhood memories and the precious moments of learning and laughter I spent with my father over the past years.
    Thanks for reminding me how much I cherish those fond memories.

  2. My dad is 86 and although he is mobile and fit, life does not go on for ever. Nonetheless I cannot even _start_ to imagine what life would be like without parents. Like all the parents of my generation, they must have been made of tough stuff – they lived through the Depression, the 1939-45 war and post-war rationing.

    I think the trick, as you suggest, is putting all dad’s stories on paper. I would also suggest lots and lots of photos of dad doing the things he most enjoys.

  3. Chatter, The times of laughter and fond memories is what I try to remember the most, they are so precious to me.

    hels,
    I would suggest that you stop what you are doing now and start putting every story that you can on paper. This is something that you and your family will treasure forever.
    My dad had some of the most amazing stories from his Navy War days. Where some never talked about it, he did. In fact, a lot.
    But it was the funny stories, the stories that were miracles.
    Yes pictures, and more pictures.
    I started scrap booking several years ago and so glad I did…I organized all pictures by year from the time I left home.
    The ones of my parents I started their albums with the earliest photos of them and was able to put all of the paraphernalia they had collected over the years in each of the books. Then continued with when my brother and I were born.
    Tuff stuff doesn’t even explain it..they are the hero’s and I pray that our children and grandchildren never have to experience what they did.
    They are priceless to me.

  4. a nicely written emotional topic

  5. Prophet
    Thank you. My dad was bigger than life, so to speak. I was around my dad almost everyday of my life until he passed, which I am thankful. It is knowing what to do, how to accept, how to move forward that has been the hard part.

Leave a Reply

 
